In 2019, 5,014 motorcyclists died in motorcycle crashes.
Motorcycles are a blast to ride, but they can be dangerous. That’s why it’s important to be aware of the motorcycle accident laws in your state so you can ensure motorcycle safety.
Riding a motorcycle without knowing the law can get you into trouble with the police.
But don’t worry. Keep reading because our article covers all the important motorcycle laws in Florida so that you can enjoy your ride without worry.
- 1 Motorcyclists Must Wear a Helmet
- 2 Motorcyclists Must Have a Driver’s License
- 3 You Must Be at Least 16 Years Old to Ride a Motorcycle
- 4 Motorcyclists Must Obey the Traffic Laws
- 5 Motorcycles Can Only Lane Split if It Is Safe to Do So
- 6 Motorcycles Can Only Ride Two Abreast
- 7 Motorcycles Must Have a Tail Light
- 8 Motorcycles Must Have a Horn
- 9 Motorcycles Cannot Carry Passengers Unless the Bike Is Designed to Do So
- 10 Motorcycles Can Only Ride During the Daytime
- 11 Motorcyclists Are Not Allowed to Drink and Drive
- 12 Are You Up-To-Date on the Motorcycle Laws in Florida?
Motorcyclists Must Wear a Helmet
Riders under the age of 21 must wear a helmet, and those over the age of 21 have the option to wear a helmet or not. However, it is always recommended that all riders wear a helmet for their safety.
Motorcyclists Must Have a Driver’s License
In Florida, you must have a regular driver’s license in order to operate a motorcycle. If you don’t have one, you cannot legally ride a motorcycle.
You Must Be at Least 16 Years Old to Ride a Motorcycle
In Florida, you must be at least 16 years old in order to ride a motorcycle. There are no exceptions to this rule. If you find yourself prosecuted for breaking any of these rules, seek out the best attorneys.
Motorcyclists Must Obey the Traffic Laws
Just like drivers of cars and trucks, motorcyclists must obey all traffic laws while riding. This includes stopping at red lights and stop signs, following the speed limit, and using turn signals.
Motorcycles Can Only Lane Split if It Is Safe to Do So
Lane splitting is when a motorcyclist rides between two lanes of traffic. In Florida, motorcyclists are only allowed to do this if it is safe to do so and the speed of traffic is under 10 mph. If it is not safe to lane split, motorcyclists must stay in their lane.
Motorcycles Can Only Ride Two Abreast
In Florida, motorcycles are only allowed to ride two abreast. This means that no more than two motorcycles can be side by side on the road at any time.
Motorcycles Must Have a Tail Light
In Florida, all motorcycles are required to have a red tail light. This is in addition to the headlight that all motorcycles are already required to have.
Motorcycles Must Have a Horn
All motorcycles are required to have a horn. This is to warn other drivers of their presence on the road. Motorcyclists can use their horns to alert drivers of potential danger ahead.
Motorcycles Cannot Carry Passengers Unless the Bike Is Designed to Do So
In Florida, motorcycles carrying passengers are not allowed unless the motorcycle is specifically designed to carry passengers. This means that no passengers are allowed on a standard motorcycle.
Motorcycles Can Only Ride During the Daytime
In Florida, motorcycles are only allowed to ride during the daytime. There is no exception for nighttime riding.
Motorcyclists Are Not Allowed to Drink and Drive
Just like drivers of cars and trucks, motorcyclists are not allowed to drink and drive. If you are caught driving while intoxicated, you will face serious consequences.
Are You Up-To-Date on the Motorcycle Laws in Florida?
Riding a motorcycle is a thrilling experience, but it’s important to know and obey the motorcycle laws in Florida. Make sure you are familiar with all of the motorcycle laws in your state before hitting the open road.
Want more information like this? Be sure to check out our blog for articles on everything from safety tips to interesting facts about motorcycles. Thanks for reading!